Funkytown – A Project by Trockland

English

Funkytown

The Next Episode

WWelcome to Funkytown. Offering a view of the Spree, Plänterwald, the neighboring Funkhaus on Nalepastrasse, and the city skyline, the new creative complex represents revitalization of a legendary location in the east. For nearly 30 years, the East German youth radio station DT64 in BLOCK-E on Rummelsburger Landstrasse broadcast culture, hits, debates, and art into the households of an entire generation. A location full of memories and emotions.

BLOCK-E will remain and form the heart of Funkytown. Eight modern buildings will also be built in the coming years and will house culture, education, accommodations, and community. Eight new STATIONS, endless horizons.

1.0
BLOCK-E

Size

10,500 m² GFA

Use

Office, Co-Working, Studio, Atelier, Restaurant

Completion

Q2 / 2024

ESG-Strategy

Leed-Certification

2.0
STATIONS

Size

38,500 m² GFA

Use

Office, Studio, Education, Culture, Atelier, Accommodation, Retail, Restaurant, Sport, Creative Craftsmanship, Kindergarten

Completion

Q4 / 2027

Location

I Follow Rivers

DThe potential provided by the location, significance, and surroundings is unrivalled in Berlin and Germany – and possibly even worldwide. “The Industrial Districts of Former East Berlin Are Now Some of the City's Most Exciting Creative Hubs,” headlines Travel + Leisure. All former citizens of East Germany are familiar with the area around Nalepastrasse, a neighborhood emotionally charged by decades of history. For half a century, the Funkhaus has provided people with the opportunity to experience culture, make music, and get their creative juices flowing.

The urban energy is balanced by the Spree and the island of Bullenbruch, whose deciduous trees extend all the way down to the water. A sense of contentment without a care in the world, free, empowering – for a mind without walls, thoughts without borders, and a heart without hurdles. The Funkytown name represents new beginnings, rhythm, and radio history as well as people, change, and city life. Creativity and urban lifestyle come together, directing the eyes to the Berlin skyline and beyond. After all, there’s a whole world behind the horizon.

 
Funkytown – A Project by Trockland

There are many ways to reach Funkytown. In a few minutes, Funkytown can be reached by Tram 21 from S-Bahn stations Ostkreuz or Rummelsburg or by ferry F11 from S-Bahn station Baumschulenweg. In addition, the on-demand BVG service Muva is available in the district of Treptow-Köpenick. Muva transports passengers using bus stops as well as additional pickup stops. There is also an all-day private campus shuttle with an electric bus, as well as the option to travel individually by scooter, share cars or bikes.

For the future, the district is planning to invest in the transport axis towards the city center and BER Airport, as well as implementing the Spree River as a route. Therefore, the use of additional ferries and water cabs is being examined.

Mission

Remember Tomorrow

Generation Hitglobus

DInternal, personal, and individual experiences remain ingrained in the mind. Whether flourishing, fragile, growing, or fading, each memory is different, but always present. We want to remember – preserve images, thoughts, and stories – which is why we’re creating a location that not only embraces history, but also builds on it, transforming memories into something new. Funkytown casts the internal into an external mold, with a clear focus on appreciation, interconnection, and vitality.

Even the story behind the origin of DT64 is fascinating. Beginning on May 19, 1964, the German Youth Rally broadcast continuously for 99 hours straight, securing its cult status and establishing itself as the voice of East Germany’s youth overnight. The former Block-E became a symbol of East German identification. The youth radio station referred to itself as the “Power of the Eastside” – and thus a movement was born in Berlin’s Treptow-Köpenick borough. Until the wall came down, shows like Hitglobus, Mischmasch, and Dr. Kaos were key components of the daily programming.

The change in 1989 was at the same time as a media upswing with new possibilities in the reunified city. New sounds and movements like techno and house played an important role at DT64 early on, with shows by Marco Lopez and Marusha.

The DT64 hit caravan was still touring Germany in 1991, having embarked on a mission to rescue the station. A large, emotional wave of protests in the east and west brought people together and continues to do so to this day. In October 1991, superstar David Bowie came to Berlin to fight for the station – without success. The end of the station in mid-1993, with the renaming to Sputnik and the move to Halle, left behind an enormous empty space in the hearts of an entire generation.

Generation Berlin

WWhat is often forgotten in East German nostalgia is the fact that Block-E has now been empty for as long as it was initially in use. The dilapidation of the building itself is also a part of history. For the kids of the Peaceful Revolution, the cult site is nothing more than a skeleton of ruins, its true spirit accessible only in YouTube documentaries. It’s high time for a transformation. And that is why Funkytown plans to create a new identity inspired by the old one, filling the empty concrete shell with new stories. Generation Berlin is international and creative, sharp-witted and digitally minded, and demonstrates awareness and attitude. Funkytown shares these values and is opening its doors – for professionals and innovative minds, for north, south, east, and west.

Funkytown – A Project by Trockland
Roof terrace – Funkytown – A Project by Trockland
Vision

New Kiez on
the Block

Funkytown, Block-E, Interior, Cafe
1.0
Block-E

DBuilt in the early 1960s, the reinforced concrete structure is a classic and needs no introduction for Berlin residents. The former DT64 headquarters continue to turn heads to this day and fascinate fans of brutalist architecture. Imposing from afar and up close, the five-floor block is home to historical treasures. The raw concrete has been preserved, and with it the recent decades of graffiti, providing BLOCK-E with its genuine character. The enormous building forms the basis for a modern vibe in the unusually cool neighborhood. Combined with new materials, a glass facade, and a contemporary interior, the former department for news and foreign policy will be transformed into innovative work lofts.

People who work here can expand their horizons and breathe German history, which even extends to the architecture. The eye-catching pillars, once guiding elements for narrow hallways, provide the gutted floors with structure and allow for flexible uses with spaces that measure up to 425 m².

Greenery and the Funkhaus are visible just outside the windows, dining is available on the ground floor, and an accessible roof terrace offers views of the sunrise and sunset, providing a sense of balance. Is it possible to reimagine a classic? Yes, by turning it into an icon.
2.0
Stations

NFollowing renovation of BLOCK-E, the focus will turn to new structures. Eight modern construction projects will allow for an extensive range of uses, from culture, education, accommodations, and community to co-working and retail spaces. The T in DT64 stands for “togetherness,” which is also rooted in the town concept. The old building and innovation – BLOCK-E and STATIONS – will be arranged specifically to encourage dialogue. The outdoor spaces will serve as cultural and social hubs, open to both the inside and outside – for experiences, conversation, dancing, and getting together.
To ensure this diversity is also visible from the outside, it has been incorporated into the architectural concept. Each STATION will be planned and individually designed by a different Berlin architect according to the urban planning concept by KSP Engel Berlin. KSP Engel will coordinate as well as design the central building of the eight stations. This allows for a creative mix, colorful ideas and funk in the city.

Funkytown – A Project by Trockland
Letting

Take Me to the Place I Love

BBLOCK-E offers a perfect starting point for designing new workspaces with plenty of free spirit. Entire floors are available or just parts of a gutted floor: flexible use of space from 250 m² to 10,500 m² is possible.

All spaces enjoy a unique atmosphere thanks to the original concrete walls, many windows facing the sunrise or sunset, and the striking architecture. In addition, there is a restaurant on the ground floor, plenty of sunlight through new windows in the basement, and a roof terrace designed for working and relaxing.

Funkytown – A Project by Trockland
Funkytown – A Project by Trockland

Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland

English

Funkytown

The Next Episode

WWelcome to Funkytown. Das neue Kreativ-Quartier, von dem man auf Spree und Plänterwald schaut und sowohl das benachbarte Funkhaus in der Nalepastraße, als auch die Skyline der Stadt überblickt, steht für die Revitalisierung eines legendären Ost-Spots: Aus dem BLOCK-E an der Rummelsburger Landstraße funkte unter Anderem der DDR-Jugendsender DT64 knapp 30 Jahre lang Kultur und Hits, Debatten und Kunst in die Haushalte einer ganzen Generation.

BLOCK-E — ein Ort mit Erinnerungen und Emotionen. Er bleibt und bildet das Herz von Funkytown. Darüber hinaus entstehen in den nächsten Jahren acht moderne Gebäude, die Heimatstätten für Kultur, Bildung, Beherbergung und Soziales werden. Acht neue STATIONS, unendlich viel Reichweite.

1.0
BLOCK-E

Fläche

10.500 m² BGF

ESG-Strategie

Leed-Zertifizierung

Nutzung

Büro, Co-Working, Studio, Atelier, Restaurant

Fertigstellung

Q2 / 2024

2.0
STATIONS

Fläche

38.500 m² BGF

Nutzung

Büro, Studio, Bildung, Kultur, Atelier, Beherbergung, Einzelhandel, Restaurant, Sport, Kreatives Handwerk, Kindergarten

Fertigstellung

Q4 / 2027

Umgebung

I Follow Rivers

DDas Potential, welches Lage, Bedeutung und Umgebung bieten, ist einzigartig in Berlin und Deutschland, vielleicht sogar weltweit. Das Areal rund um die Nalepastraße kennen alle ehemalige DDR-Bürger:innen und hat sich über die Jahrzehnte einen emotionalen Platz erobert. Im Funkhaus wird seit einem halben Jahrhundert Kultur gelebt, Musik gemacht und kreativ gearbeitet.

Umrahmt wird die urbane Energie von Spree und Bullenbruch, wo sich dichte Laubbäume ins Wasser neigen. Das Gefühl der Idylle: unbeschwert, frei, antreibend. Ohne Mauern im Kopf, ohne Grenzen in Gedanken, ohne Hürden im Herz. Funkytown trägt all das bereits im Namen: Aufbruch, Rhythmus und Radiogeschichte auf der einen Seite — Menschen, Wandel und Metropole auf der anderen. Kommen gedanklicher Groove und großstädtischer Lifestyle zusammen, schweifen die Blicke nicht nur bis zur Skyline von Berlin, sondern über sie hinaus. Hinterm Horizont geht’s immer weiter.

 
Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland

Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, Funkytown zu erreichen. Von den S-Bahn-Stationen Ostkreuz oder Rummelsburg ist Funkytown in wenigen Minuten mit der Tram 21 bzw. vom S-Bahnhof Baumschulenweg mit der Fähre F11 zu erreichen. Darüber hinaus steht im Bezirk Treptow-Köpenick der On-Demand BVG-Service Muva zur Verfügung. Muva befördert Fahrgäste nach Bedarf und nutzt beim Abholen und Zielort Bushaltestellen sowie zusätzliche Haltepunkte. Außerdem gibt es einen ganztägigen privaten Campus-Shuttle mit einem Elektro-Bus sowie die Möglichkeit, individuell mit Scooter, Share Cars oder Bikes zum Quartier zu fahren.

Für die Zukunft plant der Bezirk Investitionen in die Verkehrsachse Richtung Innenstadt und Flughafen BER sowie die Einbindung der Spree als Verkehrsweg. Hierzu wird der Einsatz von weiteren Fährschiffen und Wassertaxis geprüft.

Mission

Remember tomorrow

Generation Hitglobus

DIn der Erinnerung steckt sinngemäß das Innere, Persönliche und Individuelle. Jede Erinnerung ist anders, mal blühend, mal fragil, mal wachsend, mal verblassend, aber immer wesentlich. Wir wollen erinnern, Bilder, Gedanken und Geschichten erhalten. Dafür schaffen wir einen Ort, der von Historie lebt und auf ihr aufbaut, der aus Erinnerung Neues schafft: eine Stadt, die Inneres in äußere Form gießt. Wertschätzend, verbindend und vibrierend: Funkytown.

Auch der Impuls zur Gründung von DT64 war ein echter Superlativ: Das Deutschlandtreffen der Jugend sendete am 19.05.1964 ganze 99 Stunden am Stück und wurde so über Nacht zu Kult und Stimme der DDR-Jugend. Der ehemalige Block-E wurde zum Symbolbild für ostdeutsche Identifikation und zitierte sich selbst als „Power von der Eastside“ – ein Hype war geboren, made in Treptow-Köpenick. Sendungen, wie Hitglobus, Mischmasch und Dr. Kaos waren fester Bestandteil der Tagesplanung – bis zur Wende.

Der Umbruch 1989 war gleichzeitig medialer Aufbruch mit neuen Möglichkeiten in der wiedervereinigten Stadt. Neue Sounds und Bewegungen wie Techno und House hatten bei DT64 bereits früh eine wichtige Rolle mit Shows von Marco Lopez oder Marusha.

Noch 1991 zog die DT64-Hitkaravane durch Deutschland, um den Sender vor dem Ende zu retten. Eine große, emotionale Protestwelle in Ost und West verband und verbindet Menschen bis heute. Im Oktober 1991 kam Superstar David Bowie nach Berlin und setzte sich für den Erhalt ein. Doch ohne Erfolg. Das Ende des Senders Mitte 1993, mit der Umbenennung in Sputnik und dem Umzug nach Halle, hinterließ eine große Lücke in den Herzen einer ganzen Generation.

Generation Berlin

WWas man in der Ostalgie schnell vergisst: BLOCK-E steht mittlerweile genau so lange leer, wie er betrieben wurde. Die Verwahrlosung ist ebenso ein Teil der Geschichte. Wende-Kids verbinden mit der Kultstätte nur ein Ruinenskelett, kennen den Spirit nur aus YouTube-Dokus. Es ist Zeit für Transformation. Funkytown soll deshalb an Identität anknüpfen und neue stiften, der leere Beton soll mit neuen Geschichten gefüllt werden. Die Generation Berlin ist international und kreativ, denkt schnell und digital, zeigt Bewusstsein und Haltung. Funkytown teilt diese Werte und öffnet seine Tore — für Erfahrene, Innovative, für Nord, Süd, Ost und West.

Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland
Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland
Visionen

New Kiez on
the Block

Funkytown, Block-E, Interior, Cafe
1.0
Block-E

DDer zu Beginn der 1960er Jahre entstandene Stahlbetonbau ist ein Klassiker und bedarf Berliner:innen keine Vorstellung. Die ehemalige DT64-Zentrale zieht noch immer die Blicke auf sich und weckt das Interesse von Brutalismus-Fans. Nicht nur aus der Entfernung ist der fünfstöckige Block imposant, auch im Inneren warten Schätze der Geschichte: Der rohe Beton bleibt bewusst unberührt, auch Graffitis der letzten Jahrzehnte werden konserviert und geben ihm seinen ehrlichen Charakter. Der großzügige Bestand ist die Basis für einen modernen Vibe in ungewöhnlich cooler Umgebung. Kombiniert mit neuen Materialien, verglasten Fronten und zeitgemäßem Interieur werden aus der ehemaligen Abteilung für Nachrichten und Außenpolitik innovative Work-Lofts.

Wer hier arbeitet, schafft Reichweite und atmet deutsche Geschichte — auch architektonisch. Die markanten Stützen, früher führende Elemente für schmale Flure, geben den entkernten Geschossen Struktur und lassen flexible Flächennutzung von bis zu 400 m² zu.
Ausgleich bieten der Blick ins Grüne oder aufs Funkhaus, ein gastronomisches Angebot im Erdgeschoss, sowie eine begehbare Dachterrasse mit Sonnenauf- und Untergang inklusive. Kann man einen Klassiker neu denken? Ja, indem man ihn zur Ikone macht.
2.0
Stations

NNach der Sanierung von BLOCK-E, folgt der Fokus auf Neues. In den acht modernen STATIONS entstehen vielseitige Nutzungen: von Kultur, Bildung, Beherbergung und Sozialem über Gastronomie bis hin zu Co-Working und Ladenflächen. Das T von DT64 stand für Treffen und ist auch im Konzept der Town verwurzelt. Das Arrangement aus Altbestand und Innovation, BLOCK-E und STATIONS ist so konzipiert, dass Dialog gefördert wird: auf den Außenflächen entstehen kulturelle und soziale Knotenpunkte, offen nach außen und innen … zum Spüren, Sprechen, Tanzen, Treffen. Damit sich diese Vielfalt auch nach außen zeigt, steckt sie bereits im Architekturkonzept. Jede STATION wird von einem anderen Architekturbüro geplant und individuell gestaltet. Das ermöglicht einen kreativen Mix, bunte Ideen und Funk in der Stadt.

Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland
Vermietung

Head Vermietung ?

LLorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Donec quam felis, ultricies nec, pellentesque eu, pretium quis, sem. Nulla consequat massa quis enim. Donec pede justo, fringilla vel, aliquet nec, vulputate eget.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et magnis dis parturient montes, nascetur ridiculus mus. Donec quam felis, ultricies nec, pellentesque eu, pretium quis, sem. Nulla consequat massa quis enim. Donec pede justo, fringilla vel, aliquet nec, vulputate eget, arcu. In enim justo, rhoncus ut, imperdiet a, venenatis vitae, justo. Nullam dictum felis eu pede mollis pretium. Integer tincidunt. Cras dapibus. Vivamus elementum semper nisi.
Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland
Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland
Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland
Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland
Funkytown – ein Projekt von Trockland